In New York with no money

IMG_7612

It was my first summer in the USA. I’ve already told you about my visits to Trip to Thousand Islands , Niagara Falls and Montauk . I’ve also told you about my little trips to the city that never sleeps – New York part 1 , New York part 2 , and my visits to The American Museum of Natural History and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. I shared with you my love for Central Park , and now it’s time to tell you the story of how I was in NYC with no money. As I said in the post about Central Park :

 We headed to the nearest bank. We didn’t have enough cash so we took our last paychecks. Our boss told us we don’t need passports and our picture IDs will be just fine. Well, may be if we were residents of the USA that might have been true. Five banks and none wanted to cash our checks. I remember in one of them the manager felt so sorry for us, that he wanted to give us money…

I felt so desperate and hopeless, that the only thing I could do was argue with the ladies in the banks. And there were several banks, that we visited to try to get our money. In the last one we talked, as I said above, with the manager. He seems very sad about the situation. I think he wanted to give us some money, from his own pocket, that’s how sorry he felt for us. Of course, we said no, and left.

Now we were in the country of opportunities and ours were limited. We didn’t have enough money for both museums, so we decided to come back one more time to the city. It was time for brunch and we went in an Irish pub(the only one that served alcohol at this time of the day…strange? You can read more about it, again written by me, here – http://www.newsforshoppers.com/the-irish-pub-in-nyc/36727630/). We went to 2-3 restaurants, and tried to order alcohol, but no one served us, because it was too early. We had some eggs and steaks with sides and drinks. I, of course, had a beer and my cousin had her favourite Margarita. Little did we know that the tip(which was very generous if you ask me) was included in the check and the tax was so big. Now, we didn’t have money even for another meal later that day.

IMG_7609 IMG_7610

Sad, but a little dizzy from the drinks, we went to the station. Unfortunately, the train at this particular hour was to expensive for us, so we had to wait five more hours for the next one. At this point, I wasn’t sure if I have to cry or laugh.

Having to stay longer, we decide to explore the city more. We sat on the steps of the Metropolitan museum of art(where Blair and Serena used to stay-Gossip Girl!) and the building where Serena was set to live in, in the series(I know, i watch way too much TV). Unfortunately, we didn’t know, we can enter the museum with the amount of only 25 cents. We went to Columbus circle and saw Trump’s building. Then we had some fun in Macy’s and were fascinated of the old escalators they had. Of course, we stopped at the red stairs in the middle of Time’s Square, and imagined we were Alicia Keys(luckily for the other people there, we didn’t sing). After a little more wandering around we found ourselves again in Central Park, and we put all the money(coins) we had left(after we bought tickets for the ride home) and had enough for two Oreo ice creams. Finally, we laid on two benches and fell asleep.

Image ImageImage IMG_7663

 

Now, a few years later, I have a list, of what to do, if I have no money. I always check such opportunities, in every new place, I visit. One has to always be prepared! Here it is a list for all of you, who happen to have my “luck” in NYC:

  • Spend as much time in Central Park as possible. I lot of things to do there. There are a few maps in the park, so you won’t be lost. Don’t forget to see : John Lennon’s memorial, the big reservoir(and if you want, take the path that surrounds it, and make a long and nice walk), the Belvedere Castle,  the Bethesda Fountain, the place where Hans Christian Andersen’s statue and the one from Alice in Wonderland are, and I’m sure there is a lot more to do there.
  • Visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art. A friend took us there and there was something like that – you can pay as much as you want(if I remember correctly, you should definitely ask!), and we went inside for only 25 cents.
  • Go to Staten Island. The ferry is free and you can explore the island, or just take the ferry and see the Statue of Liberty from another angle.
  • Make a stop in a big store. We went to Macy’s, a big bookstore, a huge store full with toys and a Ferry’s Wheel in the middle…options are unlimited.
  • Time Square!
  • A nice long walk on Broadway.
  • Brooklyn Bridge. But make sure, you have enough powers for the way back.
  • If you decide to take the ferry to Staten Island, take the waterside street. From there you can see Jersey City across the river, and have Manhattan behind you. There are lots of coffee houses, restaurants, playgrounds, parks, benches and terraces there.
  • The Public Library.
  • Grand Central Station.

 IMG_7486 IMG_7580 IMG_7582  IMG_7639 IMG_7643  IMG_7662 IMG_7602

I am sure there are more things to do. If you have something in mind, please share in the comments below!

Have you been somewhere with no money in your pocket?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Embracing a Wounded Soul says:

    Fun read. Love the photos. I have been many places with no money 🙂 sometimes it’s the best way to travel. I’ve met a ton of interesting people through the years at hostels and greyhound bus stations. It’s not so easy now with a family, but definitely loved my poor solo trips.

    1. Mons says:

      Thanks! That sounds fun, I’ve never stayed in a hostel before, I would go for sure. 🙂

      1. Embracing a Wounded Soul says:

        It can be shady at times 🙂 just pick a good one.

  2. Tone says:

    Great pictures of the sights in NYC. You have great travel adventures I have enjoyed reading. The pictures are also a nice added touch 🙂

    1. Mons says:

      Thank you very much!!!
      I love reading your blog as well, but you already know that! 🙂

  3. You were allowed to sleep on benches in Central Park? Huh…

    1. Mons says:

      Well yes…nobody tried to wake us,or make it a problem..

      1. I’m surprised because not everyone would have been so lucky…

Leave a Reply

