Plovdiv is the 2019 European Capital of Culture

8

The competition among the Bulgarian cities was ongoing, till yesterday. My hometown won! I am so very happy and proud . In case you don’t know, since 1985, each year there are cities in Europe that are said to be European capitals of culture, for the particular year. Here are the winners for this year and the following 5 years: 

2014

  • Umeå , Sweden
  • Rīga , Latvia

2015

  • Mons (Belgium)
  • Plzeň (Czech Republic)

2016

  • Donostia-San Sebastián (Spain)
  •  Wrocław (Poland)

2017

  •  Aarhus (Denmark)
  •  Paphos (Cyprus)

2018

  • Leeuwarden (Netherlands)
  • Valetta (Malta)

2019 

  • Plovdiv (Bulgaria)
  • Italian city, the winner will be announced in October

You can learn more about that and see all the winners for the past years here.

Plovdiv is a unique city with a fascinating history and breathtaking views. You can Google it, or just check Wikipedia, to learn more about the past of the city, because I don’t think a hundred posts will be enough for me to tell you about it. I’ve already wrote posts about the city, you can check them here – Plovdiv, Bulgaria – The One and Only , and here – Plovdiv and its rowing channel (regatta venue) .

And, since, sometimes pictures tell more than words, here are some of the pictures I took in my hometown Plovdiv.

3 38 20 2568 69 78 79  83 104 108 115  121 125168 170120  1896997_10152703855197904_6593300730493737704_n

114 145

4 82 

 

The pictures below I took from the Plovdiv’s Facebook page. There, talented photographers or just ordinary people with an interesting point of view, share their pictures, and all of them are more than amazing. You can check all of them here .

4

2

3

6

7 1 

Capture

5

So, what do you think about my hometown so far? Would you like to visit it someday? Share with me below! 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Tone says:

    What a beautiful place to live. Who wouldn’t want to visit a place like that. I am putting this place to visit on my bucket list! It looks so rich with history, love it! 🙂

    1. Mons says:

      Thank you! Hope you have the chance to visit it one day! 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    I remember the bid to make Paphos the 2017 capital of culture, I personally think my hometown Limassol should have won but hey. Plovdiv looks really beautiful, it is a good way to bring attention to lesser known European cities 🙂

    1. Mons says:

      Thank you, I find it beautiful too! And yes, it is a good think, that more people can learn about it and probably visit it. 🙂
      I’ve never heard of Limassol before, but I’ll surely Google it.

      1. Chris says:

        Haha it’s a little rough around the edges but still pretty trendy 😉

Leave a Reply

