The Grand Canyon – another of Mother Nature’s miracles

IMG_8837

It was our second day in Las Vegas, and we’ve already booked a trip to the Grand Canyon.  A small bus took us from one hotel to the bigger bus we were going to travel with, to our destination. But, since I am not a citizen of the USA, I had to have my passport with me.. which I didn’t. Luckily, my friends’ dad was able to go back to the house and get it for me just in time. Whew!

The bus departed the bus station and we were on our way to the canyon. We watch an interesting movie about Hoover Dam and after a quick stop, where we had time to eat, we arrived. The bus driver, told us that there is a venomous creator and we should stay away from it – a squirrel. Of course, we believed him, how silly of us, right?… and it was very funny, because the squirrels were very friendly and were coming to us, but all of us keep running from them. Fortunately, we understood the joke and had a little fun with the small animals.

IMG_8763 IMG_8764 IMG_8770 IMG_8776 IMG_8780 IMG_8787IMG_8814 IMG_8848IMG_8782 IMG_8774 IMG_8809

We made two stops to the Grand Canyon, so we can have a different view. We had some time, but two Russian girls, were late, and the bus driver took off without them. But, don’t feel sad for them, he drove us to the second stop, and went back to find them.

We were welcomed by a big sign – The Grand Canyon. There was a path beside the canyon, where you can walk and enjoy the breathtaking view. I didn’t expected that the canyon would be so big, but it was! I couldn’t see its end. It was so deep that it was hard to see the bottom. The path was long with so many places to just stop and be enchanted of the picture before you. The canyon itself, was “painted” by Mother Nature in a fascinating way. The colors were so bright that if you see it on a picture, you might think it was Photoshop-ed. The way the orange, brown and red colors, were “racing” each other to the bottom was incredible, and I can still easily picture it in my mind.

IMG_8837 IMG_8788 IMG_8835 IMG_8798 IMG_8824 IMG_8805 IMG_8812 IMG_8825

On our second stop we had to go through the lobby of a hotel…but what a hotel! Some of the rooms, were actually small cabins, with small lawn in front, with perfectly cut grass and wooden chairs. I was wondering, what would be the feeling to wake up in the morning and sit with a cup of coffee, silently looking and this miracle. Must be amazing!

With every step we took we were going lower and lower to the bottom of the canyon. Unfortunately, we had no time to make the whole trip, but we could see small cabins down there, along with the different vegetation of the Grand Canyon.

IMG_8838 IMG_8841 IMG_8847 IMG_8852  IMG_8894 IMG_8866

Finally, it was time to go home, but before that we stopped for a last look. And there in the distance we saw that the sky was grey and it was starting to rain. But, here, the sun was still smiling at us. It was so weird and also amazing to actually see how the little storm was coming to us, in a slow motion.

IMG_8845 IMG_8879 IMG_8888 IMG_8892 IMG_8854 Photo-0491

I would love to go back some day and see the canyon from the other side, where the sky-walk is. But for now, I have this memories and the lovely pictures I took. 🙂

Have you ever been to the Grand Canyon? Share with me your pictures and stories below.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Admin says:

    Looks like a really amazing place. I have to go there soon as I can. I’ve never bin there but as I see, that will be priority on my bucket list. Awesome.

    1. Mons says:

      It is indeed an amazing place. I hope you visit it some day!

Leave a Reply

