My Amateurish Gingerbread House :)

Since Christmas is just a few days away, I decided to make some cookies. During my research for the best recipe, I found one about a gingerbread house. So, I ended up making one of these. Fortunately, the dough was way too much, so I made some cookies too.

10881278_10152991426837904_2065258113_n

I found several recipes, but I used this one – http://www.cookwithasmile.com/медена-коледна-къщичка/. Now, I know, that most of you don’t speak Bulgarian, but hey – New Year’s Resolution alert – learn some Bulgarian 😀 Luckily, I have the time to translate it and give you the recipe. I’ll put some pictures at the end of the post.

Recipe

  • 2 eggs

  • 1 tea-cup sugar

  • ½ tea-cup oil or butter (if you make the dough for the next day, you better use butter. If you want to make it right away, I recommend the use of oil)

  • 4 tablespoons honey

  • 500 grams flour (500g = 17.637oz)
  • 1 tea-cup baking soda
  • 1 tea-cup cinnamon
  • 2-3 crushed cloves
  • 1 vanilla powder (in Bulgaria, they sell the vanilla powder in small packets. I think one packet is about 1 tea-spoon)
  • ½ tea-spoon ginger

So, you whip the eggs with the sugar till they turn white. Then you add everything else without the flour. After everything is mixed, you slowly add the flour. I needed more than 500 grams of flour. Then you knead the dough till it doesn’t have a sticky feel, but it doesn’t have to be too hard.

Then roll the dough till it is 0.5 – 1 centimeters high (1cm = 0ft 025⁄64in).
Now you need templates. You can make them on a carton. There are plenty of templates online. You can download them, then print them, and finally glue them to a carton. You need two pieces for the front and the back of the house, with the same size. You can make a window and a door on the front one. You also need to walls, also make windows, if you want, on them. And two pieces for the roof. Some people make pieces for a chimney, but I didn’t.

Take the templates and put them on the dough. With a sharp knife cut around them, but try to be as precise as you can. Put them on a baking paper and put them in the preheated oven (180 degrees centigrade(Celsius) – 180ºC = 356.00ºF). They should be ready for 7-15 minutes, depending on the heat power of the oven.

After you take them out, you can fix them with a sharp knife, if needed. But, do it fast. Put them aside for a while, till the become cold and hard.

10877407_10152991426757904_2026448096_n

In the mean time, you can make the icing. With it, you will glue the pieces together to make a house. I used a recipe for a royal icing. There are videos and recipes online. I used:1 white (of egg), 1 and ½ tea cup of powder sugar and a few lemon drops. Once you have the icing and the cold pieces, you can start creating. First, put some icing on the edges of the front of the house piece. Stick the walls to it and hold for a while. After, that attach the back of the house. When everything is glued, glue the roof pieces. Let the icing dry, so the pieces can’t move. And here comes the fun part – decorating!

I used some green cooking paint (I don’t know how it is called), chocolate chips, sugar candies and lots of chocolate for the decoration of the house and the cookies. Oh, yes, the cookies. I made them from the rest of the dough.

I hope you like the recipe, I found it very delicious.

10877471_10152991426692904_1101753292_n 10884386_10152991426647904_344663316_n

Leave a Reply

