Winter tale in Salzburg

I was originally going to write about my second time in Paris. But, due to the horrible events, that happened there this week, I would postpone this one, out of respect of the tragically lost souls.

Instead, I’ll tell you about my experience in Salzburg.

cats

If I have to be completely honest, I didn’t know anything about Salzburg, before I went there. However, my day there was amazing. Although, it was very cold and we had to rush things, I find it a very interesting city. I might go there again, but probably in the summer.

First, we went to see the Mirabell Palace. The castle itself, we saw from a distance, but the exterior was astonishing. And not to mention the incredibly weird statues, that were guarding its exit.

V Salzbyrg (1) V Salzbyrg (2) V Salzbyrg (77) V Salzbyrg

Our next stop, was Salzburg’s main street. With the typical architecture and not so tall buildings, I felt the city was cozy and welcoming. Of course, expensive and luxury boutiques were lined on the main street, attracting tourists with their best stuff on the window displays.

V Salzbyrg (5) V Salzbyrg (45) V Salzbyrg (50)

Then we took a walk to a small bridge, that was decorated with lights for the holidays. From there we could see the Hohensalzburg Fortress, which has some interesting history, but I was so cold, that I didn’t listen at all. The fortress was resting calmly on the hill, as if it was the guardian of this lovely city. I loved how the buildings across the river, were so close to each other, making a wall, that no one should ever pass.

V Salzbyrg (12) V Salzbyrg (13) V Salzbyrg (14) V Salzbyrg (15) V Salzbyrg (19) V Salzbyrg (22)V Salzbyrg (20) V Salzbyrg (24)

Of course, we saw Mozart’s birthplace and his residence. Both were nice buildings, with a typical of the city architecture. As we made our way through the narrow streets, I wouldn’t help, but wonder – Why haven’t I heard about this city before?

V Salzbyrg (38) V Salzbyrg (40) V Salzbyrg (46)   V Salzbyrg (52) V Salzbyrg (43) V Salzbyrg (54) V Salzbyrg (8) V Salzbyrg (53)

Finally, we reached the Domplatz. The square right before the Salzburger Dom Cathedral. On my left was the Glockenspiel or the Carillon. Its bell tower was unique. And right in the middle of the square was the Christmas market, in all its majesty. The Christmas tree, standing in the middle of the market, was decorated with hundreds of lights.

V Salzbyrg (55) V Salzbyrg (56) V Salzbyrg (57) V Salzbyrg (59) V Salzbyrg (63) V Salzbyrg (64) V Salzbyrg (65) V Salzbyrg (67) V Salzbyrg (68) V Salzbyrg (66) V Salzbyrg (71)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. EUR says:

    Great article and very enlightened, Greetings

    1. Mons says:

      Thank you very much! Glad you liked it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

