My Delicious Homemade Chocolate Candies

During the holidays, I had a lot of time to be creative in the kitchen. One of my latest accomplishments are delicious chocolate candies. They are pretty easy to made, well at least I think so. My friends didn’t share my opinion. Here is the recipe:

10006360_10153011764687904_8688121694952169198_n

Ingredients:

  • 90-100 grams Chocolate (I used 50 dark chocolate and 40 white chocolate) ;
  • 40 ml heavy cream
  • 2-3 drops of walnut liqueur (this one is homemade. My grandmother and great-grandfather make this one, but you can use any kind of liqueur or rum);
  • chocolate mould (I used heart-shaped chocolate mould)

This recipe is for 15 candies.

How to make the candies:

Pour the heavy cream in a small pot and then put it on the stove, on the lowest degree possible. My stove is old and the degrees are marked as – 1,2,3,4. So, I put it on 1 and let it cook for a while, but be careful, it should not boil. Meanwhile, break the chocolate to pieces. If you use only one kind of chocolate take 50 grams and break it to pieces in a bowl. If you use two kinds, as I did, take 30 from the one and 20 from the other. Pour the heavy cream on the chocolate and let it melt the chocolate pieces for a minute or two. After that, stir it in a slow motion. Add the liqueur drops and stir again. Now leave it aside to cool for a while.

In the mean time, take the rest of the chocolate and melt it in the microwave. You can do that on the stove. I didn’t want to wait, so I did it in the microwave. I broke the rest of the chocolate in pieces and put it for 2 minutes. I stopped the process for 2-3 times, so I can stir the chocolate. It should be with the consistence of a syrup. If you use two kinds of chocolate, melt them separately. Pour the melted chocolate in the heart chocolate mould. It should cover everything well. After that, turn the mould upside down and let the surplus chocolate leak on a baking paper. You can use it later again. Then put the mould for 10 minutes into the freezer.

Pour the cream we made from the heavy cream, chocolate and liqueur into the mould, but just on 3/4 of each form. Put it for 40-45 minutes into the freezer. Meanwhile, take a sharp knife and scrape off the remaining chocolate from the baking paper. Melt it again in the microwave. You will use this one to seal the candies. Just make sure, when you pour it into the mould, it doesn’t pour outside of the small heart-shaped forms. Put it again for 10 minutes in the freezer, and then remove each candy carefully from the chocolate mould. Here comes the most important part of the process – eat them!

10867072_10153072304882904_846070923_n

Leave a Reply

