New York And Its Fascinating Skyline

IMAG1982

After we visited the Empire State Building, we had some free time before dinner, so we just walked around the city. The sun was getting ready to go down and its sunbeams were reflecting on the windows and facades of the building. It was so beautiful. We sat on a bench in a small park, hidden between two very tall buildings, and enjoyed how the sun was painting in different colours everything around us.

IMG_1540 IMG_1544 IMG_1545 IMG_1554IMG_1551 IMG_1542 IMG_1549

It was almost time for dinner and we headed to our car. On our way there, we dove into the craziness of Times Square and hardly made our way to Central Park. The park itself was very calm and quiet at night. The moon was full and high in the sky, as if it was our guiding star. Finally, we got in the car and went to eat in a very pleasant Greek restaurant somewhere in Astoria.

IMG_1516 IMG_1521  IMG_1524 IMG_1538IMG_1578 IMG_1537IMG_1529 IMG_1530 IMG_1575

We were very exhausted. I could only wish for some sleep,but our tour guide had something else in mind. I thought we were going to his home, where I could picture myself lying in a bed and entering Dreamland. Than, the car stopped. I went outside and saw that we parked just below Brooklyn Bridge. It looked so big from underneath and yet kind of scary. We walked for 1-2 minutes before we stopped. My eyes opened widely, my mouth dropped. I was suddenly awake. We were standing just a few steps of the river, underneath Brooklyn Bridge and before us was Manhattan. Oh…all of the lights, the colours, the reflection of the city’s skyline in the cold waters. Breathtaking. I can still close my eyes and see it. It is so alive in my imagination. This is a view, that will always stay in my mind.

IMAG2000  IMAG1980 IMAG1981  IMAG1985IMAG1987IMAG1986

I slept like a baby. The morning came and we were ready for more. We went to a small bakery in Astoria, where I drank the best coffee, I’ve tasted in the USA. We also ate banitza, which is a Bulgarian dish. The bakery was so cozy, and with so many sweet things, looking so delicious, that I could hardly resist them.

Photo-0876 Photo-0877

We decided to take the ferry to Staten Island, but only to see the city from a different angle during the day. We didn’t step food on the island. Whatever I say about NYC, will not be enough. As you know from previous posts of mine(New York part 1 , New York part 2 , Central Park , The American Museum of Natural History , Madame Tussauds , In New York With No Money , New York City 2013), I am in love with it.

photo (11) IMG_1685  IMG_1669 photo (11)

We were running out of time, because we had to take our bus to Boston. However, we managed to walk a little bit more and my friends got the chance to meet the famous golden bull and to take pictures with it. Although, I’ve been a lot of times in New York, I can’t wait to go there again. I hope this year I have the chance to do it again. But, meanwhile, my memories will keep me warm at night.

IMG_1703 IMG_1693 IMG_1619IMG_1626 IMG_1633 IMG_1651 IMG_1701IMG_1637 IMG_1652 IMG_1655

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely to read this and see your photos. I’m going to New York in January for the first time!

    1. Mons says:

      First time in NYC should be very exciting and fun! I hope you have a great time there!

Leave a Reply

