Budapest – The Pearl Of The Danube

on

I’ve been waiting to have some time to write this post. I didn’t want to rush this one, because Budapest have a special place in my heart. For those of you who haven’t been there yet, I hope I urge you at least a little bit to put it on you bucketlist. For those who have visited the Hungarian capital…well, you know how fascinating and one of a kind it is.

Everything started when me and my bf decided to go on a trip to Vienna. I’ve been there before and I loved it, so I was excited to make new memories there with him. There were options for Vienna and Budapest, or Vienna, Budapest and Prague. We decided to skip Prague this time, because we wanted to go for at least a week there. Budapest was never on my list, nor was I happy to visit it. But, when I got there I was in owe and will definitely make my way back there one day! Be aware for a looong post!

The first thing we did in the early morning was going to the Citadella. I should mention that it was December, it was cold, and unfortunately it was foggy. We could hardly see the fortress and the Liberty Statue was lost in the fog. Usually, when the weather is good one can see the capital from above, we were not lucky that day, but our tour guide was kind of a magician with the words, so we could imagine what was lying beneath us!

Next on our tour was the Fisherman’s Bastion. This is my favourite sight in the Hungarian capital. The chapel, the statues, the towers, even the streets around were unique. Every ornament was so interesting and cleverly carved. The fog was not so thick and we could see more from there. We had some chocolates(marzipan) and sat on the stones watching the breathtaking beauty of the Pearl of the Danube.

 

Afterwards, we went to the Hero’s Square, where we listened in the cold (although I do not regret it at all) for about an hour about the history of the city and about Budapest’s and Hungary’s most important and famous heroes.

 

We made our way to a warm souvenir shop in the Vajdahunyad Castle and stumble upon the Budapest Outdoor Ice Rink in the City Park, mostly known as Varosligeti Mujegpalya. After we bought some magnets we went to see The statue of Anonymus. Our tour guide told us to touch his pencil and he would grand our wishes, so we did (I haven’t win the lottery yet, though).

    

Finally, we got on a boat for a cruise down the famous Danube river. Some people decided to skip the cruise, which was only 13 Euro, and included a champagne drink and a cake. Skipping it was a huge mistake, in my opinion. What we saw…was amazing. Don’t let the greyness fool you. The Princess of the Danube was beautiful even in a grey dress. The waters were full of live and the buildings guarding both sides of the river, just reminded us how beautiful both Buda and Pest are. And there, at the end of the cruise, we saw the most beautiful and majestic building I’ve seen – Budapest’s Parliament.

 

Lastly, we walked around an enchanting Christmas market, ate some of the famous Hungarian langos and drank some hot tea. After that, I was full of joy and didn’t want to leave the city. The most beautiful European capital I’ve been to so far! I hope I get to visit all of the capitals in Europe and see if any of them can even compete with the beauty of Budapest!

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anabel Marsh says:

    Excellent! We loved Budapest. Thanks for visiting The Glasgow Gallivanter.

Leave a Reply

